January Books

I love to read. I always loved to read. I remember when I was about 12 years old, I spent a good part of my summer reading, among other things, Winnetou. I remember wanting to catch up with my friend, who was one book ahead of me. Oh, childhood… The first book I ever read is, I think, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Or The Goblet of Fire. Or it could have been even Winnetou. It’s sad that I can’t remember. 😦

Anyway, back to the topic of this post, which is: books that I read this last month. If we count the one I finished yesterday (and we DO count it), then the grand total is: seven. Now, I have no idea if that is brag-worthy or not, but if you know let me know in the comments section.

The first book I read this year was Witches Abroad, by Terry Pratchett (now one of my favorite authors). This was  also the first book signed Terry Pratchett I read and it was part of his Discworld series. I loved its relaxed atmosphere, likable characters and funny, witty dialog. As I already said, this was part of the Discworld series (the 12th book, I believe), yet it was like reading a stand alone fantasy novel. I’m really looking forward to reading more novels in this series.

Also by Terry Pratchett, this month I read the complete Nomes Trilogy. The three books told the story of  the nomes, four inches tall creatures lost in the human’s world. Yeah, they were all children books. So what? They were still funny and enjoyable. If there will ever be a fourth book, I will buy it as soon as it comes out.

Perhaps my favorite book that I read this month was Scott McBrain’s The Mastership Game. I loved everything about this book; the premise (five ‘players’ compete for the most powerful job in the world, that of The College’s Master. The College being a prestigious, selective institute with access to all the information you would want. The leaders of the world constantly come and speak to The Master, seeking advice.); the characters, the ending, his style of writing… The book was published in 2002, yet nobody seems to know about it. It’s a shame that everybody reads Dan Brown instead. If you can get your hands on it, I definitely recommend it. It’s really worth it.

At the pole opposite sits The Theory of The Clouds, by Stephane Audeguy. It took me almost a week to get through this book. It really is a weird specimen; this chapter is interesting and the next one is boring as hell. And it doesn’t have one single line of dialog. *sigh*. If you ever want to learn anything about clouds, this book may be perfect for you (mind you, it’s still fiction!!). I think the only reason I kept on reading was one character, who I thought had an interesting past. And that I don’t like leaving a book half finished.

Shape of Water by Andrea Camilieri is, I believe, the last book I have to talk about. I thought it was an OK read, but I also thought I would enjoy it more, since it was labeled as ‘mystery’.  I felt the book’s ending didn’t give closure to the characters. The mystery was solved, though, so I guess it gets points for that?

That was January in terms of books, for me. Now I’m reading Water for Elephants, and then I will probably take on a Stephen King novel. I have about 7 that I need to read. But meanwhile, what was the last you read? Did you like it? Or not that much? Leave the answer in the comments below. 🙂

(And as promised, no Survivor or TAR in this post.)

Posted on February 4, 2011, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The Scott McBain book sounds really interesting. I’ve liked most of Dan Brown’s books, so if McBain is better, then it should be a good read. Thanks for suggesting! I’ll have to remember to pick it up one of these days.

    I read Water for Elephants a few months ago and really enjoyed it. It definitely was something new (never read anything about circuses and the circus life before).

    The most recent book I read was by Andrea Lyon entitled Angel of Death Row. I actually only started reading it because it was a free ebook from BN as part of their Free Fridays program. If not for that, I never would have considered reading it. However, I was pleasantly surprised! Anyway, it’s a nonfiction/memoir of Lyon’s life as a lawyer for death row prisoners. I have no interest in law whatsoever, but the book kept me reading. There are a lot of accounts of cases she’s had, prisoners she’s defended, and bits of her personal life intertwined. I even learned quite a bit about law and court proceedings!

    • Yes, yes, you’ll love it! I guarantee. 🙂

      And Angel of Death Row sounds quite interesting. I love when books surprise you, but can’t remember when I was last surprised by one. I recently bought Philip Kerr’s first two books of his Berlin Noir trilogy, since they were like 80% of the regular price or something. But unlike you, I was disappointed: I couldn’t even finish reading the first book. Oh well… 😛

  1. Pingback: Top Selling Fiction » Blog Archive » January Books « White Ink Drops

  2. Pingback: Dragons & Ghosts « White Ink Drops

Leave a Reply

