Survivor: ‘You own my vote’

Before I start writing about the second episode of Survivor: Redemption Island I want to ask a question. Has anyone else paid any attention to Philip’s job caption? Formal Federal Agent? is what he’s credited as. I’m not kidding. I only noticed that a few days ago, but the question mark made my day. 😀

The episode opened with a few shots of Francesca arriving at Redemption Island, which I was very happy about. Francesca said her being on Redemption Island is ‘the best thing that could happen to my game’. She still has a positive attitude, which is great. You’d think most people would be pretty down if they were the first person voted out of Survivor, but she seems to be content with it.

Francesca also said she preferred living alone than with Philip and I completely agree with that. After seeing this episode, I can honestly say that man bugs me. I felt embarrassed watching him hunt crabs half the size of his palm. And his speech about patriotism, his uniform… I’m sorry, but what was that? It felt like it was straight out of a very cheesy, corny movie. Everybody was making fun of him, but I felt embarrassment rather than joy. Rob summed it up pretty well: “Government jobs – stressful”.

After the awkward moments at Ometepe, we went to Zapatera and indulged on yet another portion of Arrogance a Russell. He went looking for the Immunity Idol without a clue, but little did he know everyone was watching him.  I’m starting to have faith; these people seem to want him out pretty badly. I can’t wait for them to lose an Immunity Challenge.

Meanwhile, Ralph found the Idol. He was collecting rocks and he found it by pure, sheer accident. Are you serious? What is the point of Idols if people literally run into them? It only makes me angry, but if we look on the bright side, at least Russell doesn’t have it. Still, they worked so much better with Exile Island.

 

Is Mandrea the new Romber?

 

Boston Rob is really observing and the fact he’s played three times already is showing. He is worried about the relationship between Andrea and Matt. He’s used that strategy himself and knows how powerful it can be, so he’s considering voting out Andrea, should they lose the challenge. That’s a great thing – if you identify a threat you take them out as soon as possible.

But is he playing a bit too hard? He’s already thinking about whom should he bring to the end and it’s only Day 5. And to be honest, his strategy didn’t seem very different than Russell’s. He’s planning on ‘picking the girl up, putting her on my back and dragging her ass all the way’. Also, he picked the one girl who has a crush on him and follows him around like a puppy dog. I guess we’ll have to wait and see if this strategy will work for him.

 

Two For The Price of One

 

The Reward/Immunity Challenge this week had two parts. The first one was the classic challenge used in Micronesia – contestants have to swim to a platform, smash a tile and retrieve a key. That challenge is one of my favorites, so I was very excited to see they’re doing it again. But the second part… again tiles? I am a bit tired of seeing any sort of tiles after Nicaragua. The Reward consists of fishing gear, which everybody is excited about.

One highlight of the challenge was Grant, who grabbed the key but didn’t smash the tile. For a second I thought Jeff will put him to climb up the platform and smash the tile, but that didn’t happen. Also, Jeff demanding to ‘see that animal, Philip’ and him totally failing was pretty funny.

In the end, Zapatera won again and Matt did the unthinkable: he congratulated them. I was perplexed when I saw that. Why would you do something like that? To be honest, I found it amazing that only Rob was bothered by it.

 

‘I know how to play this game’

 

After the challenge, Russell went for the Idol clue hidden in the basket, but Ralph saw him. As a small observation, Sarita looked like a witch with that hat and that’s enough reason for me to like her :D. But anyway, Ralph confronted Russell about the clue in front of pretty much everybody. His response was sort of stupid, in my opinion.

Why did he say ‘maybe there was a clue’, if he was going to deny it a minute later? Now everybody knows he has the clue and Ralph looks like a hero for confronting him. I think Ralph’s likable enough. He was smart enough not to tell everybody about his Idol… so far. And that  ‘ol’ boy right here does too’ know how to play the game. 😛

 

He’s a formal federal agent

 

If there’s someone who doesn’t know how to play the game, that’s Philip. As soon as Ometepe returned from the challenge, he gathered everybody around and gave them a ‘vote for me,

it’s okay’ speech. He told Rob he would vote for whoever Rob wanted. He then actually ASKED Rob who to vote for. At Tribal Council, he pointlessly talked about his tattoos for about

ten minutes. He talked about meeting his ‘nemeses’ at Redemption Island. He looked like a fool. Utterly ridiculous.

Matt got voted out of Survivor last night.

I really hoped he would be sent to Redemption Island so that Francesqua can kick his butt. But in the end, Rob told Philip (at Tribal Council!!) to vote for Kristina, who played the Idol.

Meanwhile he blindsided poor Matt for shaking hands with the other team. Yep, the kid never saw it coming and neither did Andrea. I thought, for a second, he started crying before bringing Jeff his torch.

I have to ask though, was that a good strategic move? Now there are two people at Redemption Island and both pretty much hate Rob. Plus, he pissed off Andrea and I’m guessing Kristina is still against him.

It seems like next week we’ll finally see a ‘Redemption Island Duel’. I’m definitely hoping Francesca will win this one, since Matt is so… soft. And innocent. And I really don’t think he’d do better than Francesca, if he was to reenter the game.

A few questions for you to answer in the comment section: What did you think of this episode? What did you think of Rob’s plan to take out Matt? Who would you like to win the Duel?

Posted on February 24, 2011, in Survivor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hard to say what will happen w/ the duel.. we don’t know all the players strong points and weeknesses yet.. too early on. Honestly I think I want Matt to go home.. he reminds me too much of Fabio.. who I didn’t care for.
    I did NOT see the ?? in Philip’s job.. that is funny.. he is very weird.. he is even stranger than Coach. I don’t have any clear favorites yet. I do NOT like Russel and I do like Ralph.. and of course Boston Rob. I think there is so much going on though right now.. I was bummed we didn’t get to see the Redemption Island duel last night. Oh well.. have to wait until next week.

    • I am surprised to learn I am not the only living person who didn’t care about Fabio. 😀 He is, in fact, the only winner who I didn’t like since Day 1. Oh well…

      I also thought for a while the first Duel will be on episode 2, but Mark Burnett said at a press conference or somewhere we’ll have to wait till episode three. The preview is quite exciting though – just saw it on Youtube. 🙂

Leave a Reply

