Read as if your life depends on it!

You may remember another post I wrote, in which I was briefly talking about my New Year’s Resolutions. One of those is to read 100 books in 2011. Well, after a great first month, I’ve basically stopped reading altogether. I think I finished two more books since then, so I need to do something to get back on track.

I am happy to announce I’ve found the perfect solution: Dewey’s Read-a-Thon. What is this?

For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs about our reading, and visit other readers’ blogs. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

 

Is it crazy? Maybe, but it involves completely eliminating sleep from my schedule, reading and writing (i.e., updating this blog on my progress) for 24 hours. That sounds good to me. As I’ve already said, it will also help me get back on track with my readings; the pile of ‘to-be-read’ books is getting dangerously high.

The Read-a-Thon starts on the ninth of April, at 12 PM GMT, which means less than 20 hours from now. I know I postponed writing this for almost a week, but if you want to join in, you can still do it: sign up and get more details from the site. Cancel your weekend plans, run to your local library and grab a bunch of Goosebumps books and start reading.

Alternatively, cheer me on and take on the challenge in October. 😀

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Cheering you on! Glad to see you joined up. Misery DOES love company. =) But this’ll be a fun challenge! C.F.

  2. How are you doing? Yes, we’re into hour six. 🙂 I just posted an update if you want to check out how my eyeballs are doing. http://tinyurl.com/3en8a8w

  3. p.s. – don’t know if you’re on Facebook, or already discovered it, but the Dewey Read-a-thon page is fun to follow during reading breaks.

    http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=145827055481584&index=1

    • Nah, not a fan of Facebook, but I did check the Read-a-Thon’s page somewhere around Hour 2. It looked really fun, especially the Discussion Board or whatever it’s called. Might check it out later as well, though since I’m trying to update this thing hourly, I don’t really have much time left during those breaks. 😛

  4. Hope you’re having a great read-a-thon! Happy reading 🙂

  5. Hope you are having an excellent readathon and if you are still awake, keep up the excellent work 😀

  6. Thanks guys, I did go to sleep for about six hours because of unfortunate circumstances, but I’m trying to catch up now. 😛

Leave a Reply

