Post Read-a-Thon thoughts

The 24 Read-a-Thon is officially over and although I am saddened by how quickly it flew by, I could definitely use some rest. This was a great experience and I probably had the most fun I had this year so far. I can’t wait to do it again, in October.

Let’s see some stats, shall we?

Pages read: 950

Books finished: 3 and 1/3 of the fourth one

Total time spent reading: I’d say it was 17 hours. Although I did stay up 18 hours, I most likely spent one updating the blog, doing mini challenges and so on.

Mini Challenges completed: 9

  • Introduction meme: It involved answering five questions about yourself
  • Where in the world are you reading: It involved going to Google Maps, finding your location and placing a placemark with your name or name blog or whatever. Although now that I took another look, I realized I managed to place mine in the middle of some sea.
  • Book recommendation: Recommending a book that would spark interesting discussions at a Book Club meeting (+bonus: naming foods that would go with it)
  • Book Trailer: Sharing a book trailer
  • Survey: Fill out a survey about your experience
  • Referral link: Sharing who told you about this, basically
  • Oldies, but goldies: Naming one of your favorite classic books
  • Funny: Sharing something funny
  • Collaborative fiction: Someone would start a story and you had to write one line to continue it.

While I did have fun for the most part, one unfortunate thing that happened was that I had no Internet for some 12 hours, because of a storm. This resulted in me having no one to talk to, no challenges to complete, no connection with everyone else involved. And because of all this, I fell asleep. I slept for about 6 hours and I woke up feeling terribly disappointed and sad. I know I would have been able to stay up and read the entire time, had it not been for the Internet incident.

But you know what? It was still tons of fun, I don’t regret doing it at all. Those organizing it, those hosting mini challenges, ‘the cheerleaders’, all did a great job. The Read-a-Thon was a great way to get away from it all for a little while. And I DID manage to read almost 1000 pages in 17 hours. That’s pretty cool, if you ask me.

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

