Harry Potter.

I’m not sure if I mentioned this before, but I’m a huge Harry Potter fan. Like, a huge, huge fan – I loved the books and movies ever since I was 9 or 10 and always will.

As everyone knows, the last movie in the series, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part Two, premiered on July 13. I feel a short blog entry was due, to share with the world a few thoughts on the movie.

The only reason I didn’t go to the midnight screening is because that was the 3D version of the movie and I wanted to see the 2D version first. Nevertheless, I went to the 13.50 screening on Thursday, so I still think I’m among the first people to see it. 😀

Also, in preparation for this event, I saw all the previous seven movies over the weekend. It was amazing, but at the same time tiring. I’ve been reminded how awesome the soundtrack of the entire series is, how much I hated Umbridge while reading HP and The Order of the Phoenix and other interesting things.

Anyway, back to the last movie. I will not be able to put into words just how much I loved it, I just won’t. So let’s just say I got goose bumps about…30 seconds? 40? into the movie and they more or less lasted the entire two hours. That has never happened before, not even with the other Harry Potter movies. Even though this was the shortest movie in the franchise, together with HP and the DH: P1, it did the book justice. I really do feel like this was the best movie in the series; there is not a thing I disliked. True, they still cut out some minor elements but overall they did a great job of staying faithful to the book.

The acting was top-notch. If Emma Watson (Hermione) and, to an extent Rupert Grint (Ron) shined in Part 1, the star of this one was definitely Daniel Radcliffe (Harry). Though really everyone did a fantastic job, from Alan Rickman (Snape) to Helena Bonham Carter (Bellatrix) and Maggie Smith (Prof. McGonagall). Evanna Lynch (Luna, who happens to be one of my favorite characters) and Matt Lewis (Neville) stole a few scenes as well. The one tiny observation I have (which isn’t anything new, by the way) is that there still is no chemistry whatsoever between Daniel and Bonnie Wright (Ginny). Does anyone actually believe their characters are in love? However, that can be and is easily overlooked.

One of the most touching scenes was The Prince’s Tale – I did not expect to see a crying baby Potter and a devastated Snape hugging the body of Lily. I got teary eyes. Then, the walk to the Forbidden Forest was also beautifully executed. I got teary eyes again. The battle scenes were also well done – they could have used a little more dueling, but they were still such a delight to the eyes.

I have to say though…I’m feeling emptier now. Yesterday, I was all excited and happy because the movie was so great. Now, after a good night’s sleep, it really hit me: one of the greatest things I had ever experienced finally came to an end. Well, it will never end (and certainly not for me), but there are no more books to wait for, no more movies… it’s almost depressing. I can’t bring myself to do anything, nor can I stop thinking about this wonderful phenomenon that has deeply marked my childhood. And listening to Farewell to Dobby and other songs from the soundtracks over and over again does not help!

I’m not sure when or if I will post another entry on Harry Potter (maybe once Pottermore arrives?), but it can’t not have its own category. So, to end this on a somewhat positive note, the quote from J. K. Rowling which I am sure has touched many more fans other than myself:

‘Whether you return by page or the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.’

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Harry Potter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Beautiful post 🙂

  2. “Now, after a good night’s sleep, it really hit me: one of the greatest things I had ever experienced finally came to an end. Well, it will never end (and certainly not for me), but there are no more books to wait for, no more movies… it’s almost depressing. I can’t bring myself to do anything, nor can I stop thinking about this wonderful phenomenon that has deeply marked my childhood. And listening to Farewell to Dobby and other songs from the soundtracks over and over again does not help!”

    This is PRECISELY how I feel. I feel as though this movie was the portrait to my Dorian Grey…my youth is being drained into the aether now that I’ve seen it.

    I’m hoping something new will come along for me to obsess over. The Dresden Files is a good series, but it just doesn’t have the same sense of wonder that Harry Potter gave me.

    Good post. 🙂

    • To be honest, I’m not sure I will ever come across another book series like Harry Potter. Back in the days, I started reading The Children of The Lamp, The Wardstone Chronicles and Le Livre des étoiles (The Book of Stars). While they were good, they still couldn’t even compare to HP.

      Recently, I tried to reread The Book of Stars, but I found I didn’t enjoy it as much. The other two series are still going on and I have some catch-up to do, but… it’s just not the same.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I’m always happy whenever I meet a new Harry Potter fan 🙂 beautiful post and I must say: I agree with everything you said… I’ve been a huge fan since I was 13 … I have been reading the books and watching the movies ever since.
    I don’t see the chemistry between Harry and Ginny either .. they seem so awkward … sometimes like two old friends who haven’t met in a while ..
    I’ve always loved Snape for everything he has done for Harry … even though I had my moments when I was confused about his attitude, I wanted to believe that he actually has a very good reason for behaving like that ..
    The last movie was the best, but so was the last book (from my point of view) .. If only the story continued …

    • Hey, thanks for reading and leaving a comment! ^_^

      I have to admit, despite kind of knowing he’ll turn out good in the end, I also enjoyed hating Snape before reading the final book. Come on, killing Dumbledore – I fell so hard for that and hated the guy so much. But now he’s actually one of my favorite characters! 😛

      I agree the last movie was the best. And yes, it would INSANE if JK would write a continuation of sorts. 😀

  1. Pingback: TAR Australia: ‘I hope we don’t have to wear a crown of thorns’ « White Ink Drops

Leave a Reply

