RaT Challenge: A Music Bath

Edit: Challenge now over. Winner is Supa Novacaine. Thanks to everyone who participated! 🙂

Hello, ‘thoners! Still hanging on in there? Eight hours of continuous reading is impressive, so do allow yourself a few moments to celebrate.

The fact that you’re still standing -and that you signed up for this in the first place-, suggests you’re quite appreciative of literature. I bet there are some among you that also enjoy other forms of art – painting, composing music or writing (NaNoWriMo anyone? I’ve only a vague idea what I’m going to write this year. Me begins to panic). What I am most certain of, however, is that all of you like music to some extent.

If you’re like me though, you would listen to music every minute of the day. On most days, you may just be able to do that. But not today, because today we read; and reading requires concentration – even the Goosebumps books, or whatever your pick of ‘light reading’ is. Oliver Wendell Holmes once said:

Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons. You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.

That, awesome readers, is my challenge for you: take a short (short!) break from the novel you’re currently savouring and think of these questions:

  1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
  2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
  3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

When have at least one song in mind, go and listen to it once or twice. After that, come back here and leave me a comment saying what song(s) you listened to, what book does it remind you of and why. I’m always on the lookout for new great music, so if you want to leave a link as well, even better!

One lucky person will be randomly selected to receive a prize from the Read-a-Thon prize list. You have three hours – plenty of time.

You shy? Don’t be, I’ll go first.

  1. I’m not reading anything at the moment. As I write this, it’s the 11th of October.
  2. I love the Harry Potter books, and Luna Lovegood is quite possibly my favorite character in the entire series. A few years ago I was introduced to this song through the TV show F.B.Eye. Ever since then, I can’t help but think of Luna & her quirkiness whenever I listen to it.
  3. This is a bit harder. But I adore ABBA, so pretty much all their songs are favorites of mine. The Mastership Game, which I had read in January and enjoyed tremendously, is about five people who try to legally obtain $2 mil. in one year. So… Money, money, money? I think so. 🙂

Your turn. Also, good luck with the remaining of the Read-a-Thon! Here’s hoping one way or another, we all cross that finish line! 😀

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 47 Comments.

  1. I’m reading Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine. It’s a zombie apocalypse kind of book. I’m super loving it!

    1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of? It’s a toss up between I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor and Let the Bodies Hit the Floor by Drowning Pool.
    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of? My favorite book is the Stand and it’s always ALWAYS been closely linked to Don’t Dream It’s Over by Crowded House.
    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like? Oh I think it’s very much possible! I loved Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill..so yeah..That song plus the book are awesome!

  2. I just started Ready Player One which has a lot of references to the 80’s. I’ve only read the first 18 pages but so far it has mentioned Oingo Boingo’s Dead Man Walking and the Muppet Show. I love the theme to the Muppet Show!

  3. 1. I’m currently reading A Discovery of Witches and it makes me think of that old song “I put a Spell on you.”

    2. Fav book: One of my all-time favorites is The Book Thief and for some reason it makes me think of the song “Cathedrals” by Jump, Little Children. You can hear it here…

    3. Connect a fav song with a book: I adore the Death Cab for Cutie song “I Will Follow You into the Dark” and it makes me think of the book “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” for some reason.

  4. Harry Potter is also my choice for #2.. 🙂

    Here’s my answer to the three questions!
    http://justalillost.com/2011/10/22/295365-deweys-read-a-thon/#Hour8

  5. Something’s Gotta Give by Aerosmith reminds me of a William Gibson cyberpunk novel (except I actually enjoy it). Perhaps it’s the line about how the cyberoptic head explodes? Or maybe that part comes from my audiobook (Hyperion) in which a Gibsonesque hacker’s head just exploded…

    Ugh, cyberpunk.

  6. I have a multitude of books going on before me today….this one is easy though… I am reading No Longer A Slumdog and it if course reminds me of the movie Slumdog Millionaire and in turn the song in the movie… Jai Ho. (which is the most listened to song on my Ipod as it is a great work out song 🙂

  7. This one really made me think but eventually, I settled on the hidden track from Dido’s Life for Rent to represent Pride & Prejudice. Mostly it makes me think of Jane & Mr. Bingley but I see Elizabeth and Darcy in it, too.

  8. 1) The Austere Academy: Hmm, that’s fairly difficult. I’m not going to go for the obvious and use a song by The Gothic Archies. (They created a whole album in honour of ASOUE and it’s very good! I highly recommend it!) I think I’ll go with Know Your Enemy by Green Day. Throughout the series, Count Olaf uses a series of cunning (really?) disguises to steal the Baudelaire’s fortune, they always see through them, but the adults in the series – even those who mean well – are often blind and can never seem to “Know the enemy” even when he’s right in front of them!

    2) Ok, I’m going to cheat a little on this one. I don’t have a favourite book. At all! I love all of my books! But! I do have a favourite graphic novel and that is Johnny The Homicidal Maniac. The song that most reminds me of it is Mad World (specifically the Gary Jules version) because it has the same dreamlike quality that Nny’s speech takes on when he’s talking to Nail Bunny about loosing his ability to create. Another reason is because he detests sleep because when he wakes up he can’t remember where the dreams stop and his memories begin…

    3) White Rabbits by Emilíana Torrini (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwdL_Zn5nCE) reminds me a lot of Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman. Again, the whole dreamlike sound the song has matches a lot of the detached attitude of a lot of the stories in the collection.

  9. I’m feeling a smidge overwhelmed by a desire to read ALL THE THINGS and Twitter and read all the blogs everywhere, so I think my brain is too fried for challenges. I like this one though and have reblogged it so I can come back in a few days and give it a think properly.

  10. Those are fantastic questions! They got me to listening to some fun music.
    Here’s my post answering the questions: http://bahnree.blogspot.com/2011/10/dewey-music-bath-challenge.html

    christianchick52 at gmail dot com

  11. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?

    ATM reading “Leviathan” by Thomas Hobbes, so “Call to Arms” by Manowar fit’s rather well as the core of Hobbe’s philosophy is the “war of everyone against everyone” and how it’s to be avoided.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?

    My favourite book… a good question in itself. I’ll blatantly choose “The Phantom of the Opera” by Gaston Leroux, because it is the first one to cross my mind at this question. The acquinting song should be obvious. ALW is all I’ll say.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

    Yes, I can connect the song “Warriors of the World united” by Manowar with the “Warhammer 40k – Dawn of War” – Storyline by C S Goto.

  12. Here’s my song that reminds me of Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
    I answered the rest of the questions on my blog
    Awesome challenge! Thanks so much. It was a nice break 🙂

  13. 1. Right now I’m reading The Kingdom of Gods by N.K. Jemisin and I think the song “Passive” by A Perfect Circle goes pretty well with it. The music itself matches the mystical badassness of the book perfectly, and I think it’s a good theme song for the main character, Sieh.

    2. OK my favorite book is the Outlander series, which honestly doesn’t remind me of any music except Scottish / Celtic music, of which I know zilch. However Wicked reminds me of the Wicked musical… does that count? LOL. And my favorite romance, Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie, reminds me of Elvis Presley music.

    3. One of my favorite songs right now is “Hey There Delilah” by the Plain White T’s (yeah, I’m late) and it for some reason reminds me of Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, maybe because of that young emo feel they both have. And he mentions NYC in the song, which is where the book takes place.

    Fun mini-challenge! Thanks for the guilt-free music break 🙂

  14. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of? Slow Love mentioned a lot of music: Bach, mostly, but also Allison Kraus, Sarah McLachlan, even Led Zeppelin.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of? Anytime I hear. Irish music, I think of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like? I was delighted to hear on the radio the other day “One’s on the Way” by Loretta Lynn. I seem to be reading a lot lately about motherhood and the compromises we must make, and it ties pretty well into A Tree Grows in Brooklyn as well – the part where Katie Nolan learns she’s pregnant with a second baby, even though her first isn’t thriving and her husband’s a bum, and the decisions she makes to provide for her family. I think she and Loretta would have a lot to commiserate about.

  15. (WARNING: this poster does not possess the skill of shutting up! Wall of text alert!)

    1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
    This is slightly tricky. A short story I just finished was meant to be a chapter in Bram Stoker’s Dracula, but didn’t make the final cut. After his death, the story, along with some other short pieces, was published by his wife. The main feeling I took away from it, despite the evocative desriptions, was how daft the protagonist was to go wandering in the wilderness with the night approaching and a snowstorm on its way. And when I think of daft protagonists, I think of Margaret, the heroine of Hazards of Love, a concept album by The Decemberists. I think the pinnacle of her daftness comes through in the song titled Won’t Want For Love. Just for the record (pun unintended), it features her wandering out to find the father of her child. In the taiga. She has reason to be looking there of all places, but still. Pregnant woman. In a dense forest. Alone. Sounds not too far removed from the Englishman I just read about.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    I’m going to cheat on this one, and name the whole Harry Potter septology as one (seven?) of my favourite books. The books may be on my list of favourite ones, but THE favourite character of mine will always be one Severus Snape, and the song The Truth Beneath The Rose by Within Temptation is so extremely him. As is Hand of Sorrow by the same band – despite the fact that it is actually about Fitz, the protagonist of the Assassin books of the Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb. (You can view this second one as a bonus answer, since I dearly love this trilogy too.)

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?
    One of my favourite songs would have to be something by My Chemical Romance, notably Vampires Will Never Hurt You and Demolition Lovers. The only story I can directly relate to the first one would be one I wrote myself. As far as the second one goes, again, I can’t bring a book to mind, but the general theme is very close to the romantic plotline of the film Public Enemies, so I’m going to do with that one as the next best thing.

  16. NaNoWriMo: yes me 🙂

    1. What song my book (Waiting by Ha Jin) reminds me of? Right now of Nine million bicycles by Katie Melua.
    2. My favorite book and music? I don’t have a real favorite book so I’ll pick a book I recently enjoyed very much: La bella figura, a field guide to the Italian mind by Beppe Severgnini and the song would be Il meglio dave ancora venire by Ligabue.
    3. A connection between a fave song and a story I like…. hmm not an easy one. I’d say A wish for something more by Amy McDonald and the story would be my first book of this readathon: Nights of Rain and stars by Maeve Binchy

    Happy Readathon!

  17. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
    The Imperial March (from Star Wars).

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    My favourite book is Skellig by David Almond. It reminds me of “I’ll follow the sun” by The Beatles.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?
    Yellow Submarine (song) and The Little Prince (book). Both sound impossible but somehow make sense.

  18. I’m reading Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star so the musical questions are pretty appropriate. I listened to Control by Puddle of Mud — because the introduction to the book listed all of the original songs that were featured in the book before the book became a book… (which really only makes sense if you’ve read the intro and have your head wrapped around this particular story. Heh)

    What’s also kind of interesting is as I’m reading the book, and even more so after listening to Control… I’ve got Welcome to the Jungle running through my head. Very odd.

  19. I’m reading Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore (with Lynn Vincent), and I found myself listening to Eric Clapton doing Crossroads.

    I actually started with Robert Johnson’s “Crossroads”, but needed something more upbeat.

    The cover of the book that I’m reading has a railroad crossing on it, because I believe that Denver (who was raised by sharecroppers in the south) hopped a train and “escaped” the town he’d been living in and wound up homeless for some time. Later he met an art dealer that he became friends with and his life was changed.

  20. 1. I just finished The Indigo Notebook by Laura Resau which calida to mind The Avett Brothers’ “Pretty Girl from San Diego”. The feel of that song brings to mind traveling.

    2. One of my favorite books is The Hunger Games and that calls to mind “Ali in the Jungle” by The Hours.

    3. One of all-time favorite songs is “Happy Together” by The Turtles ,which makes me think of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy from Pride & Prejudice.

  21. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of? Right now I am reading Crossed by Ally Condie. I can’t think of a great song for it, but they are working through a desert canyon, which makes me think of “Desert Rose” by Sting. Haha!
    What song does my favorite book remind me of? One of my favorite books is The Night Circus, and it reminds me of the song “Poison and Wine” by the Civil Wars.
    Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like? My favorite song is “Drops of Jupiter.” To tell you the truth, I can’t think of a currently written book that it reminds me of, but it does remind me of the book I’m writing… a connection I never consciously made before!

  22. Hello there, finally a mini-challenge I can take part in as well. Woop 😀

    What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
    – I have just finished reading Brave New World and it reminds me of Johnny Panic’s Warn you. I’m not sure why. I can’t quite put it into words.
    What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    – My favourite book is The Wind up Bird chronicle by Murakami. It reminds me of Peter Sarstedt’s Where do you go to, my lovely. Around the time I was reading the book, my boyfriend had just bought a vinyl player and one of the first records he bought was of that song. So, yes, he played it whilst I would sit and read the book. Hence the connection.
    Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?
    – My favourite song at the moment is Natives by Blink 182, the line “I start to feel my feet, they kick down walls as they move” reminds me of a scene in the Wind up bird chronicle, when Toru, the main character, passes through the walls of the well.

  23. 1.What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?

    I’m reading Sherlock Holmes stories right now.. and I think the pink panther theme song would go right along with most of the, especially when Sherlock is right on the verge of figuring out the mystery and explaining it to Watson and the reader.

    2.What song does my favorite book remind me of?

    My favorite book is Crime and Punishment… the first song to come to my head for that book was Crazy by Gnarls Barkley.

    3.Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

    I’m not sure that I have a favorite song since I’m more interested in books than music… :-/

  24. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?

    I’m currently reading Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. With its black and white palette, I can’t help but see it as a Tim Burton drawing, which of course means that its soundtrack is by Danny Elfman. Music from Edward Scissorhands or even “Sally’s Song” from A Nightmare Before Christmas are just right. But Saint-Saens Carnival of the Animals works too. 😉

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?

    One of favorite books is Helene Hanff’s 84 Charing Cross Road. It will always remind me of Charlie Watt’s tribute to Charlie Parker, an album I discovered around the same time as the book.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

    Single Gun Theory’s “Words Written Backwards” connects for me to Frank Herbert’s Dune. There is so much inevitability in Dune despite prescient characters.

  25. What an excellent question! I’ve always thought that the Eagles and SE Hinton were meant for each other. (Too much listening to my Dad’s music :)). Am currently reading Philippa Gregory though and have racked my brains for a song that might go with it. Got nothing!

  26. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?

    I just finished the book “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky for the read-a-thon and the song Your Hand in Mine by Explosions in the Sky feels like the book. There is this one line where the main protagonist, Charlie, says “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite” and the song feels just like that word.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    I love Sweethearts by Sara Zarr and the song that book reminds me of would be Everything by Lifehouse. It fits both of the main characters, Jenna and Cam, in their relationship where they need and love each other.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like? I currently really love Lovesong by Adele and I think that song suits Jane Eyre really well. The song talks about feeling safe and whole in another person’s company and always loving each other no matter how far they separate, which is exactly what Jane and Rochester’s relationship was about.

  27. here’s a link to my lists, it contains hard rock, rap, folk, and pop…I have eclectic tastes I guess lol

    http://amandapearlsbooks.blogspot.com/2011/10/mini-challenge-musical-bath.html

  28. Hour 8: A Music Bath

    Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons. You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.

    That, awesome readers, is my challenge for you: take a short (short!) break from the novel you’re currently savouring and think of these questions:
    1.What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
    2.What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    3.Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

    1. I’m about to start reading And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, and since I’ve read it before (a long, long time ago), I know what it’s about. I’d say it reminds me of “Murder by Numbers” by The Police. I guess simply by the title not necessarily the instructions provided in the song. My brain is addled so I hope you understand my meaning.

    2. I’m not sure what my favorite book is, but I’ll pick a favorite book: Pride and Prejudice. Let’s see, hmmm…this is hard. Pride and Prejudice reminds me of “Sometimes Always” by The Jesus and Mary Chain. I’m not sure why. I guess because it’s full of back and forth griping between a man and a woman only to end in love. Or something. I don’t know, I always loved this song, mainly because it seemed an honest depiction of true love. If Elizabeth Bennet sang, she might sound like Mazzy Star. Here’s a video of the song:

    3. Sure. One of my favorite songs is “Love Will Tear Us Apart” by Joy Division. This song always sounded to me as if it was in iambic pentameter. That’s why it sounds so good! And the title can obviously be thematically linked with Romeo and Juliet. Here’s another video of the lyrics with the song to share:

  29. I just went and listened to The Adventures of Rain-Dance Maggie by RHCP again. Such a great song, and it makes me happy to read. =)
    My post answering the questions: http://morewillberevealedmyfriend.tumblr.com/post/11786732417/readathon-hour-8-and-9-a-musical-bath-and-book

  30. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of? – I really don’t have one that this book reminds me off – I’m too early into it. Though Jenny Pox by JL Bryan that I just finished reminds me of the song they play in the scene of Shrek where Snow White goes aaaaheeeeeahhhhh and all the animals come flying out of the forest to attack
    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of? – Fav book right now Anna Dressed in Blood and song Paint it Black!!
    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like? – Stitches by the Dykeenies and Hob’s Bargain by Patricia Briggs

    Pabkins @ Mission to Read
    @pabkins on twitter you can reach me haha

  31. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?
    I don’t have an unclichéd answer. The first thing that came to mind for The Hunger Games was ‘Eye of the Tiger’ by Survivor.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?
    Er…well, that’s sort of cheating, because there’s a musical version of Auntie Mame (cleverly entitled ‘Mame’), but it’s the song Open a New Window from that that I think best tells what Auntie Mame’s all about.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?
    One of my favorite songs is Origin of Love from Hedwig and the Angry Inch, mainly because it itself TELLS a story. It’s based on Aristophanes’ speech in Plato’s Symposium, and I love it muchly.

  32. I did the challenge on my readathon post. Check it out here.

  33. 1. What song does the book I’m reading right now remind me of?

    I’m reading “Homer’s Odyssey”, a non-fiction book about a blind cat. The relationship between the cat and his owner is wonderful, and it definitely puts me in mind of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin'”.

    2. What song does my favorite book remind me of?

    My favourite book is probably The Stand by Stephen King, and I can’t hear “Don’t Fear The Reaper” without thinking of it.

    3. Can I find a connection between one of my favorite songs and a story I like?

    I can’t read “At Swim, Two Boys” without hearing the music of Clannad at some point, playing in a loop in my head!

    Hope the readathon is going well for you!

  34. I’m currently reading a book called God Makes Lemonade, and it makes me think of Katy Perry’s California Gurls for some reason 😛 Maybe it’s the summery setting of her music video? I don’t know, but it does!

  1. Pingback: Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 8: Snack Time!

  2. Pingback: 295/365: Dewey’s Read-a-Thon « Just a lil' lost…

  3. Pingback: Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon | Books: A true story

  4. Pingback: Hour seven. Still going strong. « My first Readathon

  5. Pingback: Readathon Update: 2 p.m. (Hour 8) « The Joy of Booking

  6. Pingback: Read-A-Thon – Mini-Challenges | The Coffee Clef

  7. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 9: You Will Survive!

  8. Pingback: Readathon October 2011 | The Adventures of a Linguaphile

  9. Pingback: It’s Read-a-thon Time! « Katherine's Reading Notes

  10. Pingback: 24 Hour Read-A-Thon - Owl Tell You About It

  11. Pingback: Dewey's 24-hour Read-a-thon | Books: A true story

Leave a Reply

