TAR Australia: ‘I’m sorry I ate so much ice cream as a child’

I have exams coming up which means I can’t write a full recap for the fourth episode of TAR: Australia. Again. So, a few of my thoughts:

First of all, this was the third episode (out of four) that did not feature a Roadblock! Honestly, what’s up with that? What we did have, however, is a U-Turn! Unsurprisingly, most teams voted for Paul&Steve. The exceptions were Lucy&Emilia, who chose the Cops (why, I don’t know) and James&Sarah, who opted for the Italian sisters. That is, the two girls who have almost been eliminated in each leg so far. With the reason being that they were the only ones behind them. All of that was followed by a statement from Sarah about how they’re ‘getting smarter’. Yeah, right. Smarter. They did finish first this leg, so we have to give credit where it’s due!

So, Kym&Donna bit the dust. They always reminded me of Dave&Kelly from the previous season because of their appearance and their way of interacting with each other. Now it seems they also share the same elimination – via not showing up at the Pit Stop. I’ve gotta say… them getting so lost was a truly epic failure. I refuse to believe absolutely no one in that country understands English, or that they couldn’t have just go into a store, check out a map, then draw their own. I’m glad they messed up because that was Lucy&Emilia’s saving grace (they are like cats – nine lives and all), but I also think there was a number of things they could have done to prevent that.

As for the other teams… Joseph&Grace surprised me with their strong performance, but I don’t think I like them. Did anyone see the way Grace refused to help out her brother while stuck in the sand? I was disappointed Paul&Steve managed to overcome the U-Turn, since that means we’re probably stuck with them for at least a few more legs. I still don’t have much to say about Shane&Andrew even though we’re already four episodes in. As for the twins, I’m still on the fence about them.

This was another good episode! I’m looking forward to next week!

Posted on June 22, 2012, in The Amazing Race and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

